Did I just get a message over the celestial telephone?

joshua 2

By David White

I don’t really hold with mediums, Ouija boards and spirit voices from the other side.   But I recently had an experience that has tilted my axis ever so slightly.

I was doing a meditation called “Buddha transforms difficulties”.  Lord knows I had a big enough difficulty to transform.  In this exercise you can ask a wise being to take over your difficulty, and you watch how they deal with it.

The wise person who showed up to help me with this difficulty was my mum, and I saw how she would have approached the problem I was facing.  It was a great bit of advice.

The meditation then concludes with the wise person giving you a gift.  Mum said “You already have it,” and wrapped up for me was her bible.  I had salvaged it from the contents of her retirement unit for safe-keeping, but with no fixed idea about where it might end up.  “There’s a message for you,” she said. I remembered there was a book-mark in the bible.

I forced myself to stay quiet for a few more moments and then rushed out to where I had cached her bible.  I haven’t done a whole lot of bible reading in the past few decades but I was an over-achiever at Sunday School and I know my way around both testaments.

There were in fact three book-marks in mum’s bible.

The first one was in Judges 7, where Gideon has a dream about how to defeat the Midianites.  He and 300 of his closest mates surround the Midianite camp and blow their trumpets and smash their jars and shout “A sword for the Lord and Gideon”, then they kill all the Midianites and cut off the heads of Oreb and Zeeb.  I don’t think that was the message.

The second one was in 1 Samuel 11, where Saul rescues the men of Jabesh Gilead from the Ammonites – “During the last watch of the night they broke into the camp of the Ammonites and slaughtered them until the heat of the day.”  Hopefully that wasn’t the message either.

The third one was Colossians 3, where Paul writes from his prison in Rome to his buddies in Colosse, and gives them some “rules for holy living”.  One of those rules was:

“As God’s chosen people, holy and dearly beloved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.”

The third bookmark was a strange hooked shape with an enameled elephant attached to it.  The last present I ever gave mum was a little carved elephant I bought her in Thailand.

So I figured that was the message, and there’s not much doubt that I could be applying more compassion and kindness to the current difficulty, and above all a bit more patience.

There was another rule as well:

“Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

Geez mum, did you have to give me  homework as well?

    • Betty
    • July 17th, 2013

    David, thank you for the rules from Colossians 3. I think if we all followed them there would not be quite as many difficulties to transform. Good luck with your difficulty. It won’t be easy but it will be transformed (or at least you will).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

