The Formula for a Happy Day

Not too long ago, I had a great day.  In a rare moment of quiet reflection at the end of it, I tried to pinpoint the things that made it so.  I am not one of those people who is bubbly, smiling and chirpy all the time.  In fact many people probably think the opposite.  I probably, more often than not, appear (not feel) sullen, quiet and pensive.

The day hadn’t really started out too crash hot, I woke up with a headache.  One of the type where you cannot contemplate lifting your head off the pillow.  There were plenty of other things that didn’t bode well.  We rushed out the door to swimming lessons, my husband didn’t even get changed out of the clothes he wore to bed (albeit it was a tracksuit).  I had a sense of foreboding, we had lots to fit in and he had to be at work shortly after lunch.  A quick trip to Bunnings with one of our sons resulted in my ankles getting rammed with one of those child-size shopping trolleys.  Generally speaking I wasn’t a happy camper.   

So what was so great about it? 

I had two coffees before midday; that probably helped.  And we met some lovely new friends and enjoyed watching our kids play happily together.   On a quick drive past the building site for our new house we stopped and joined our neighbours for a cup of tea and a chat.  Then later in the day after hubby had shipped off to work I caught up briefly with an old family friend at my mum’s house.  I lit a fire in mum’s rarely used but beautiful fire place and we all enjoyed a pleasant dinner without the kids kicking up a big fuss.

But yet by the end of the day I classified it as great?  It took me a while to process this and I realised how often I spend a day rushing from one thing to the next without actually focusing on enjoying some of the more simple things.  The harder things, the challenges and the difficulties so often cloud my thoughts and I struggle to get joy from the smaller things.  In fact I think I might often completely overlook them.

So I have been making an effort to enjoy little experiences and achievements: like a cup of good coffee; or a few minutes chat with a friend; reading a few pages of a book; or managing to put on my makeup in the morning or even better coordinate a pair of earrings to my outfit.  This might be easy for some people, but I’m one of those people who spends more time running than walking.  Slowing down can be really, really hard, but when practiced in moderation, I have found it can be exhilarating.

This is the second post by Ellen Fussell (twitter: @shortyfuss), who does it all: work, family, blog. Makes the rest of us tired just thinking about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

